You're choosing a learning platform for your company, and DataCamp for Business and Coursera for Business are both on the shortlist: both sell per-seat plans for teams, both move to custom contracts for large companies, and both promise measurable skills. They're built for different jobs, though. Coursera for Business is a broad catalog covering different skills, while DataCamp for Business is a hands-on platform for data and AI skills.
We compare both business offerings plan by plan, from price structure and admin controls to integrations, rollout support, and catalog depth, with one verdict per section.
If you're choosing for yourself rather than a company, see the DataCamp vs Coursera comparison for individual learners.
Pricing and course data last verified .
DataCamp for Business vs Coursera for Business at a Glance
The table sums up the verdict of each section below.
| Dimension | DataCamp for Business | Coursera for Business | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Learning format | Practical, graded in-browser exercises with short videos | Partner video courses with labs and in-course assessments | DataCamp |
| Pricing and commercial model | Teams from $27.50 per user/month billed annually; Small Business and Enterprise by demo | Team $399 per user/year billed annually (up to 499 users); Enterprise quote-only (500+ users) | DataCamp |
| Security and admin controls | Google/Microsoft SSO on every plan; SAML SSO from Small Business | Single sign-on on Enterprise only | DataCamp |
| Data and AI depth | Data and AI focus, practice-led, from SQL to machine learning | Data and AI programs within a general business catalog | DataCamp |
| AI tutor | AI tutor courses that build each lesson around the learner's role, skill level and goals | Coursera Coach assistant and Role Play alongside video courses | DataCamp |
| Content breadth | Data and AI focus, business intelligence, cloud computing | Business, technology, data, AI and leadership | Coursera |
| Analytics and skill measurement | Team reports, skill assessments, Skill Matrix for team skill levels | Proficiency analytics and proctored exams on both plans | Tie |
| Integrations | LMS and BI integrations on Enterprise; MCP server and Ask AI chat for admins | APIs and LTI integrations on Enterprise | Tie |
| Services and rollout support | Premium services hours, custom content, live training | Customer success manager and business reviews above a contract threshold | Tie |
| Free tier | First chapter of every course (free Basic account) | No free business plan; 14-day money-back guarantee on Team | |
| Best for | Hands-on data and AI upskilling, from one team to the whole company | One catalog and branded credentials for every department |
Both vendors sell a self-serve team plan and a custom enterprise contract, but DataCamp adds a plan in between. Here is every business plan at its published list price:
| Platform | Plan | Who it's for | List price | Billing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DataCamp for Business | Teams | Small teams (2 to 35 seats) | $27.50 per user/month | Billed annually; self-serve |
| DataCamp for Business | Small Business | Organizations up to 500 employees | Quote-only | One fixed price based on organization size by default; seat-based pricing on request; request a demo |
| DataCamp for Business | Enterprise | Large organizations | Quote-only | Contact sales; seat-based pricing on request |
| Coursera for Business | Team | Up to 499 users | $399 per user/year | Billed annually; 14-day money-back guarantee |
| Coursera for Business | Enterprise | 500+ users | Quote-only | Contact sales |
Which Plan Fits Your Company Size?
Each band below maps your company to the plan you'd buy from each vendor.
- One team or department, licensed per seat
- DataCamp for Business: Teams ($27.50 per user/month) · Coursera for Business: Team ($399 per user/year)
Both sell per-seat licenses for a team, and DataCamp's Teams plan is self-serve. - Whole company, up to 500 employees
- DataCamp for Business: Small Business (Quote-only) · Coursera for Business: Team ($399 per user/year)
DataCamp's Small Business plan prices the whole organization at one fixed price by default, with seat-based pricing available if you prefer, and adds SAML single sign-on. - 500+ employees
- DataCamp for Business: Enterprise (Quote-only) · Coursera for Business: Enterprise (Quote-only)
Both vendors move to a quote, with integrations and services that their smaller plans don't include.
The middle band is where the ladders differ most. A company of a few hundred people buys seats on Coursera, or one organization-wide plan on DataCamp, where seat-based pricing is also available.
How Do Employees Learn on DataCamp vs Coursera?
DataCamp builds every course around practical, graded exercises that run in the browser, while Coursera delivers video courses, with labs and assessments added on top.
A DataCamp lesson pairs a short video with hands-on exercises that check each answer as the employee writes it, and every course, exercise, and project runs in the browser with no installation.
That saves a round of IT approvals when analysts on locked-down laptops need Python. DataCamp for Business can also add live training for teams that want scheduled sessions alongside self-paced work. DataCamp also has the World's #1 AI tutor, which provides a tailored learning experience for each individual.
Coursera includes 1,500+ hands-on Guided Projects, including secure GenAI Playgrounds, skill assessments in every course, and learning guidance on both of its plans. On Coursera, practice sits next to the lectures; on DataCamp, practice is the lesson.
| Feature | DataCamp for Business | Coursera for Business | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teams | Small Business | Enterprise | Team | Enterprise | |
| Full course catalog | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Hands-on practice (exercises, labs, projects) | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Certificates or certifications | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| AI tutor or AI learning guidance | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Mobile app | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
Both vendors include their full catalogs and mobile apps on every business plan.
Our verdict: DataCamp wins on learning format because every course is built on graded, in-browser practice rather than just video lectures.
Is DataCamp or Coursera Cheaper for a Company?
DataCamp is cheaper for most companies: its Teams plan lists for less per seat than Coursera's Team plan, and its Small Business plan covers a whole organization for one price.
DataCamp lists Teams at $27.50 per user per month, billed annually. Coursera's Team plan costs $399 per user per year for up to 499 users, with a 14-day money-back guarantee. Above the team tier, the price models split:
- DataCamp for Business sells Small Business as one fixed price based on organization size, for organizations up to 500 employees, so adding people doesn't add seats. Seat-based pricing is also available for Small Business and Enterprise if a company prefers it. Enterprise is priced by request.
- Coursera for Business keeps per-seat pricing up to 499 users, then sells Enterprise to companies with 500+ users through its sales team. Its customer success services require an annual contract threshold.
DataCamp's free Basic account opens the first chapter of every course, so a team lead can try the format before buying, while Coursera has no free business plan. Coursera accepts payment by invoice, credit card, or PayPal.
Our verdict: DataCamp wins on pricing because its Teams seat lists for less than Coursera's Team seat, and its Small Business plan covers a whole company for one price.
Which Has Better Security and Admin Controls, DataCamp or Coursera?
DataCamp offers single sign-on earlier than Coursera: every DataCamp plan includes Google or Microsoft SSO, and SAML SSO starts at Small Business, while Coursera includes SSO only on Enterprise, for 500+ users.
Every DataCamp plan includes an admin dashboard and license management. DataCamp Enterprise adds an activity log and advanced permissions management for larger IT teams. Coursera's compare page marks single sign-on as not included on its Team plan, so a company under 500 people on Coursera manages logins without it.
| Feature | DataCamp for Business | Coursera for Business | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teams | Small Business | Enterprise | Team | Enterprise | |
| License management | Included | Included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Admin dashboard | Included | Included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Advanced permissions management | Not included | Not included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Activity log | Not included | Not included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Google / Microsoft SSO | Included | Included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Enterprise SSO (SAML) | Not included | Included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Single sign-on (SSO) | Included | Included | Included | Not included | Included |
DataCamp's security overview cites ISO 27001 certification, but neither vendor's business plan pages list certifications such as SOC 2, so ask both for current audit reports during procurement.
Our verdict: DataCamp wins on security and admin controls because it offers single sign-on on every plan and SAML SSO from Small Business, while Coursera reserves SSO for Enterprise.
Does DataCamp or Coursera Go Deeper on Data and AI?
DataCamp goes deeper on data and AI: its 800+ courses focus on that field, while Coursera's data and AI programs are one part of a catalog of 10,600+ courses. Here is the DataCamp side of the comparison below, with ratings from learners:
Coursera's best-known data programs come from Google, IBM, Stanford Online, and DeepLearning.AI.
Each topic below pairs one Coursera offering with the closest DataCamp track or course.
| Topic | DataCamp course or track | Coursera equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Data analyst upskilling | Associate Data Analyst in SQL
39 hrs · 4.8/5 (188,119 reviews)
|
Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate
152 hrs · $399 per user/year
|
| Data science in Python | Associate Data Scientist in Python
90 hrs · 4.8/5 (111,573 reviews)
|
IBM Data Science Professional Certificate
178 hrs · $399 per user/year
|
| Machine learning | Machine Learning Scientist in Python
85 hrs · 4.8/5 (31,673 reviews)
|
Machine Learning Specialization
95 hrs · $399 per user/year
|
| AI literacy for the whole workforce | Introduction to AI for Work
2 hrs · 4.7/5 (20,202 reviews)
|
AI for Everyone
7 hrs · $399 per user/year
|
| Generative AI for business teams | Generative AI for Business
1 hr · 4.8/5 (9,782 reviews)
|
Generative AI for Everyone
6 hrs · $399 per user/year
|
For the role programs, DataCamp's tracks are shorter than Coursera's certificates, 39 hours against 152 for the data analyst path, and most of that time goes into writing code.
For company-wide AI literacy, short courses such as Introduction to AI for Work and Generative AI for Business fit around a working week, and the 9-hour AI Fundamentals track goes further.
Introduction to AI for Work can also be taken with DataCamp's AI tutor. Before a lesson begins, the AI tutor asks who the learner is, what they do, and where they're going. Everything adapts from there.
Our verdict: DataCamp wins on data and AI depth because its whole catalog is built around those skills, with graded practice from SQL through machine learning.
Which Has the Better AI Tutor, DataCamp or Coursera?
DataCamp's AI tutor teaches the lesson itself, while Coursera Coach assists alongside video courses. Both vendors offer AI help on their business plans, but they're built for different jobs.
On DataCamp, an AI tutor course builds each lesson around the learner's role, skill level, and goals. It slows down when a learner is stuck, speeds up and goes deeper when they're ahead, and includes hands-on coding practice with real-time feedback. Classic DataCamp courses stay available alongside it.
Coursera Coach is a generative AI assistant on the course page. It answers questions about the lesson, summarizes lectures, helps learners test their skills and gives feedback, and Coursera has added career guidance and Role Play simulations for practicing workplace skills. Coursera lists AI-powered learning guidance on both business plans.
| Feature | DataCamp for Business | Coursera for Business | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teams | Small Business | Enterprise | Team | Enterprise | |
| In-course AI tutor or coach | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| AI tutor hours included per seat | 10 hours | Ask sales | 20 hours | Not stated | Not stated |
AI tutor time is metered on DataCamp's business plans: Teams includes 10 hours per seat (5 on promotional Teams plans) and Enterprise 20, admins can set per-member limits, and more hours are available through sales. Ask sales about Small Business. Classic courses don't use any AI tutor hours, and Group Hub's AI Adoption Insights shows admins how teams use AI in their tutor conversations.
Our verdict: DataCamp wins on AI tutoring because its tutor leads the whole lesson and adapts it to each learner, while Coursera Coach assists alongside video courses.
Does DataCamp or Coursera Cover More Subjects?
Coursera covers far more subjects, with 10,600+ courses across business, technology, data, and leadership, and 165+ Professional Certificates from partners such as Google, IBM, and Microsoft, while DataCamp's main focus covers data and AI, albeit with similar partnerships with Google, Microsoft, OpenAI, and Anthropic to name a few.
One Coursera license can train managers, IT staff, and analysts on the same contract, and for that buyer, a data-only platform is the wrong first purchase.
Coursera also translates the full learner experience into 20+ non-English languages on both plans. DataCamp's answer for credentials is its own certifications, such as Data Analyst Associate and SQL Associate, which are earned through timed exams rather than course completion. DataCamp also offers translations across 23 languages on the platform.
Our verdict: Coursera wins on content breadth for buyers who need one library for every department.
Which Measures Employee Skills Better, DataCamp or Coursera?
DataCamp and Coursera are evenly matched on skill measurement, with different strengths: DataCamp maps skill levels across teams, while Coursera builds assessment and exam security into every course.
Every DataCamp plan includes skill assessments and team performance reports, Small Business adds advanced reporting, and the Skill Matrix shows skill levels by team. DataCamp's plan comparison lists it for Enterprise, so ask sales whether Teams and Small Business include it. Coursera includes analytics for skills learned, proficiency, and time to mastery on both plans, along with AI proctoring and a lockdown browser for high-stakes exams.
| Feature | DataCamp for Business | Coursera for Business | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teams | Small Business | Enterprise | Team | Enterprise | |
| Team progress and performance reports | Included | Included | Included | Included | Not stated |
| Advanced reporting | Not included | Included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Skill assessments | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Skill levels by team (Skill Matrix or equivalent) | Ask sales | Ask sales | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Proficiency analytics (skill levels and score trends) | Ask sales | Ask sales | Included | Included | Included |
| Proctored exams | Ask sales | Ask sales | Ask sales | Included | Included |
If proctored exams matter for compliance, Coursera has them on every plan; if you need a team-level skills map, that is DataCamp's Skill Matrix.
Our verdict: DataCamp and Coursera tie on skill measurement, with DataCamp stronger on team-level skill maps and Coursera on proctored, assessed courses.
Which Integrates Better With Your Tools, DataCamp or Coursera?
DataCamp and Coursera both keep their LMS integrations for the enterprise tier, and each leans toward a different part of your stack: DataCamp toward corporate LMSs, BI tools and data warehouses, Coursera toward academic-style LMSs.
DataCamp Enterprise includes LMS integrations with Degreed, Cornerstone, SAP, EdCast, Workday and Docebo, plus LTI for Canvas and Moodle, and an integration API and xAPI for syncing completions. Reporting integrations with Power BI and Tableau, and a Data Connector for data warehouses, put training data next to business KPIs. DataCamp doesn't support SCORM, because its interactive content can't be packaged that way. Coursera Enterprise includes APIs for custom reporting and syncing learner analytics, and native LTI integrations with Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle and D2L. Coursera also says it integrates with over 30 LMS and LXP systems.
DataCamp also has an MCP server that lets group admins work from an AI assistant such as Claude: add or move team members, assign courses to a whole team, check who hasn't started an assignment, and pull adoption, engagement and completion reports without opening DataCamp. For admins who'd rather stay in the platform, Ask AI offers the same actions in a chat inside Group Hub, live on Teams plans with Enterprise to follow. Coursera's own connectors for ChatGPT and Claude focus on searching its catalog.
| Feature | DataCamp for Business | Coursera for Business | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teams | Small Business | Enterprise | Team | Enterprise | |
| LMS / LXP integrations | Not included | Not included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| LTI integrations | Not included | Not included | Included | Not included | Included |
| Reporting integrations with BI tools | Not included | Not included | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| APIs for reporting and syncing | Not included | Not included | Included | Not included | Included |
| AI assistant access for admins (MCP server, Ask AI chat) | Included | Ask sales | Ask sales | Not stated | Not stated |
Check your own LMS against both lists before you shortlist on this dimension.
Our verdict: DataCamp and Coursera tie on integrations, since both reserve LMS integrations for Enterprise, with DataCamp connecting to corporate LMSs, BI tools and data warehouses and adding an MCP server and Ask AI chat for admins, and Coursera adding LTI links to more academic LMSs.
Which Gives More Rollout Support, DataCamp or Coursera?
DataCamp and Coursera both back their larger plans with services, but DataCamp starts earlier: its Small Business plan includes 3 hours of premium services, while Coursera's customer success services require an annual contract threshold.
DataCamp Enterprise adds custom premium services, custom content, and instructor-led training, and the Small Business plan already includes custom tracks.
Coursera Enterprise includes a dedicated customer success manager, executive business reviews, and learner and admin onboarding once the contract threshold is met, plus Skill Tracks for IT, software, data, and GenAI teams. Coursera's AI-powered Course Builder and custom learning paths come with both of its plans.
| Feature | DataCamp for Business | Coursera for Business | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teams | Small Business | Enterprise | Team | Enterprise | |
| Custom tracks or learning paths | Not included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Custom or private content | Ask sales | Ask sales | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| AI-assisted course authoring | Ask sales | Ask sales | Ask sales | Included | Included |
| Co-branded learning experience | Not included | Not included | Included | Included | Included |
| Priority support | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Premium or professional services | Not included | 3 hours | Custom | Not stated | Not stated |
| Dedicated customer success manager | Ask sales | Ask sales | Ask sales | Not included | Contract threshold |
| Executive or program business reviews | Ask sales | Ask sales | Ask sales | Not included | Contract threshold |
| Admin and learner onboarding | Ask sales | Ask sales | Ask sales | Not included | Contract threshold |
| Instructor-led or live training | Ask sales | Ask sales | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Skill Tracks (turnkey paths for IT, software, data and GenAI) | Included | Included | Included | Not included | Included |
For a mid-size rollout, DataCamp's included services hours are the more concrete promise; for a large contract, both vendors staff the account.
Our verdict: DataCamp and Coursera tie on rollout support, with DataCamp including services from Small Business and Coursera adding a customer success manager and AI course authoring.
6 Questions to Ask DataCamp for Business and Coursera for Business Before You Sign
Plan pages answer the first round of questions, but the contract decides what your company actually gets. Bring these to both sales teams.
Can we start with one team and expand to the whole company without changing platforms?
A good answer names the plan you'd move to and what changes in price and features when you do. DataCamp's ladder runs from Teams to Small Business to Enterprise, and Coursera's from Team to Enterprise at 500 users.
Which plan includes SAML single sign-on, and at what company size?
Ask for the plan name, not just "yes, we support SSO". On the published plans, DataCamp includes SAML SSO from Small Business, and Coursera includes single sign-on on Enterprise.
How will we measure skill gains rather than course completions?
Look for assessments before and after training, and reporting by team or role. Ask to see a sample report with real numbers, not a dashboard mockup.
Which LMS and BI tools does the platform integrate with, and on which plan?
Name your own LMS and BI tool in the question. Both vendors keep integrations for their enterprise tier, so confirm the plan before you compare prices.
What onboarding and customer success support do we get, and is there a contract threshold?
A good answer gives hours, people and a threshold in writing. Coursera states that its customer success services require an annual contract threshold, and DataCamp's Small Business plan lists 3 hours of premium services.
Is the price we're quoted the list price or a promotional rate, and what happens at renewal?
Team plans on both sites can show special prices next to the list price. Ask what the renewal price will be, and whether it is locked for multi-year terms.
Final Verdict: DataCamp for Business or Coursera for Business?
Decide by what you're buying for and how big the company is. Data and AI upskilling that has to show up in people's work points to DataCamp for Business, especially between one team and a few hundred employees, and one learning license for every department points to Coursera for Business.
Choose DataCamp for Business if:
- You want employees practicing code in the browser rather than watching lectures.
- You want one price for the whole company before you reach enterprise size.
- You need single sign-on without buying an enterprise contract.
- You want an AI tutor that adapts each lesson to the learner's role, skill level and goals.
- You want depth in data and AI, from SQL to machine learning and generative AI for business teams.
Choose Coursera for Business if:
- You need leadership, business and IT courses on the same license as data and AI.
- You want Professional Certificates branded by Google, IBM, Microsoft or a university.
FAQs
How much does DataCamp for Business cost compared with Coursera for Business?
DataCamp lists its Teams plan at $27.50 per user per month, billed annually, and sells Small Business as one fixed price based on organization size for organizations up to 500 employees. Coursera's Team plan costs $399 per user per year for up to 499 users. Both price their Enterprise plans by quote.
Which plan should a company with a few hundred employees choose?
On DataCamp, a company of up to 500 employees can buy the Small Business plan, which covers everyone for one price and includes SAML single sign-on. On Coursera, a company of up to 499 users buys seats on the Team plan, and single sign-on comes with Enterprise at 500+ users.
Do DataCamp for Business and Coursera for Business support SSO and LMS integration?
Yes, on different plans. DataCamp includes Google or Microsoft SSO on every plan, SAML SSO from Small Business, and LMS integrations such as Degreed, Cornerstone, SAP and EdCast on Enterprise. Coursera includes single sign-on, APIs and native LTI integrations with Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle and D2L on its Enterprise plan.
How can I measure employee skill gains on DataCamp vs Coursera?
DataCamp includes skill assessments and team performance reports on every plan, advanced reporting from Small Business, and the Skill Matrix for skill levels by team on Enterprise. Coursera includes skill assessments in every course, analytics for proficiency and time to mastery, and AI proctoring on both of its plans.
What onboarding and customer success support do DataCamp and Coursera include?
DataCamp's Small Business plan includes 3 hours of premium services, and Enterprise adds custom services, custom content and instructor-led training. Coursera's Enterprise plan includes a dedicated customer success manager, executive business reviews and learner and admin onboarding once an annual contract threshold is met.
Which is better for data and AI upskilling, DataCamp for Business or Coursera for Business?
DataCamp for Business is the stronger choice for data and AI upskilling because its whole catalog covers that field and every course is built on graded coding exercises in the browser. Coursera for Business fits better when one license has to cover leadership, business and IT training as well as data, with Google, IBM or Microsoft Professional Certificates.
Do employees earn certificates on DataCamp for Business and Coursera for Business?
Yes. DataCamp offers exam-based certifications such as Data Analyst Associate, Data Engineer Associate and SQL Associate, earned through timed exams, plus certificates of completion. Coursera offers 165+ Professional Certificates from partners such as Google, IBM and Microsoft, plus shareable course certificates.
How much does DataCamp for Business cost per seat compared with Coursera for Business?
DataCamp's Teams plan costs $14 per user per month billed annually for teams of 2 and up, labeled a special price. Coursera's Team plan costs $399 per user per year for up to 499 users. Both price their enterprise tiers by quote, and DataCamp also offers a Data & AI Unlimited plan with one fixed price and no seat limits.
Which is better for data and AI upskilling, DataCamp or Coursera?
DataCamp is the stronger choice for data and AI upskilling because its whole catalog covers that field and every course is built on graded coding exercises in the browser. Coursera is the better fit when one license has to cover leadership, business and IT training as well as data.
Can a small team try DataCamp or Coursera before committing?
DataCamp's free Basic account opens the first chapter of every course, and its Teams plan is self-serve for teams of 2 and up. Coursera has no free business plan, but its Team plan comes with a 14-day money-back guarantee.
A senior editor in the AI and edtech space. Committed to exploring data and AI trends.
